The Anne Birt Award

Open Award 

The Anne Birt Award recognises a significant contribution to technology innovation, technology transfer or technology strategy in the field of NDT.

2018 winner: Professor Ian Cooper CEng FInstNDT MWeldI

The Anne Birt Award for 2018 is awarded to Professor Ian Cooper CEng FInstNDT MWeldI.

Ian Cooper is a Chartered Engineer and Technology Fellow with over 30 years’ experience in non-destructive testing (NDT). On joining TWI in 2005 at the Advanced NDT Centre in Port Talbot, Ian specialised in NDT of composites. More recently, his work has concentrated on advanced NDT methods and automated robotic inspection systems. A recognised expert in the inspection of composites and other difficult materials, he leads the highly successful IntACom programme developing rapid automated inspection systems for complex geometries. Ian and his co-authors were awarded the 2015 John Grimwade Medal for a paper on this work.

Ian is a Vice President and Fellow of the British Institute of Non-Destructive Testing (BINDT) and is widely published in NDT and aerospace journals. A qualified Level 3 in ultrasonic testing (UT), radiographic testing (RT), digital radiographic testing (DRT), infrared thermographic testing (IRT) and magnetic particle inspection (MPI), he is a past Chair of the BINDT Technical Committee and is active and influential on a number of other committees that guide the development, application, training and certification of NDT. In 2016, he was made an Honorary Professor of Practice at the University of Wales Trinity Saint David.

Past winners:

2016    Keith Newton and Peter Thayer
2017    Dr Stephen F Burch

A nomination form can be downloaded here.

Details of all Institute awards can be found here.