Open Award, CM Award 

The COMADIT Prize is awarded for a significant contribution through research and development in any branch of condition monitoring to the benefit of industry or society.

2017 winner:
Professor Ling Wang
Sponsor: PCN Working Groups

The COMADIT Prize for 2017 is awarded to Professor Ling Wang, in recognition of her outstanding research record in sensor and signal processing for condition monitoring, especially for tribological systems such as bearings, engines, lubrication and wear.

Ling Wang is currently Professor of Tribo-Sensing at the National Centre for Advanced Tribology (nCATS) at the University of Southampton. She has over 20 years’ research experience in sensing and condition monitoring technologies, especially for tribological applications.

Ling has published over 100 research papers and has an £8 million research grant portfolio from UK RCs, the EU and industry. She currently leads an EU Clean Sky programme, ‘Integrated Intelligent Bearing Systems for Ultra High Propulsion Efficiency Ground Test Demo’, where smart bearings for aero-engines are being developed.

Ling is Head of nCATS and Chair of Monitoring of Engineered and Natural Systems Using Sensors (MENSUS), a University Strategic Research Group at the University of Southampton. She is also a Fellow of the British Institute of Non-Destructive Testing (BINDT) and a Chartered Engineer.

Past winners:
Prof A D Hope
Laser Optical Engineering Ltd
Dr T Holroyd 
J R Technology and RMS Ltd
Mr C Pearson 
Staffordshire University
Dr M Walters
Mr S Mills and Mr D Whittle 
SpectraQuest Inc
Mr S Greenfield and Mr D Shorten
Ardrox Engineering
Dr J Twiddle and Dr S Muthuraman
PCN Working Groups
Mr K Seaborne and Dr J H Yebra
PCN Working Groups
Professor Len Gelman
PCN Working Groups

A nomination form can be downloaded here.

Details of CM awards can be found here.

Details of all Institute awards can be found here.