The Hugh MacColl Award

Open Award 

The Hugh MacColl Award is offered by the Institute for a distinguished contribution by an individual to the teaching or training of NDT or condition monitoring. It commemorates the contribution to NDT of the late Hugh MacColl, a founder member of the NDT Society of Great Britain and former Principal of Wednesbury Technical College.

2017 winner: Doug O’Hare

The Hugh MacColl Award for 2017 is awarded to Doug O’Hare.

Born in Gloucester in 1995, Doug O’Hare is currently finishing the final year of an NDT Engineering Technician apprenticeship at Rolls-Royce plc, in Derby. Once his apprenticeship is complete, Doug will be taking on a role as a Level 3 at Rolls-Royce Corporation in Indianapolis, USA. He has also completed the NDT foundation degree with distinction at the University of Northampton and will be starting the BSc top-up next year.

Doug is currently qualified as a Level 2 in ET, PT and MT and is also working towards a Level 2 in UT. Afterwards, he will work towards Level 3 qualification in all of these methods. He is also working towards becoming a lead auditor for Rolls-Royce and has taken part in a number of surveillance audits for ultrasonic disk inspection.

During his apprenticeship, Doug has worked on projects involving phased array ultrasonic and eddy current tube inspections and investigations into the capability of magnetic particle inspection (MPI) through coatings.

Past winners:

1989    Chief Tech G Metcalfe
1990    Mr G Elliott
1991    Mr M J Nicholas
1992    Dr S R Oaten
1998    Mr K Coultate
1999    No Award
2000    No Award
2001    No Award
2002    No Award
2003    Mr T Armitt
2004    No Award
2005    No Award
2006    No Award
2007    Mr C Ward
2008    No Award
2009    No Award
2010    No Award
2011    No Award
2012    Mr J Drury
2013    No Award
2014    No Award
2015    No Award
2016    No Award

A nomination form can be downloaded here.

Details of all Institute awards can be found here.