The Hugh MacColl Award

Open award for members and non-members 

Award criteria

To recognise the contribution by an individual to teaching, training, education and professional development in NDT/CM/SHM over a period of at least 2-10 years. 

Details of the award: The award will consist of a certificate backed by £350 cash, an invitation to the NDT Annual Conference Dinner and one night’s accommodation. In the case of a group award, the invitation to the NDT Annual Conference Dinner will be made to one representative.

Eligibility: For a significant contribution over a period of at least 2-10 years by an individual to teaching, training, education and professional development in NDT/CM/SHM.

The proposer of the award should be a voting member of the Institute. If they are not, they will need to ensure the application is endorsed by an Institute voting member.

Frequency: The prize will be awarded annually and will only be issued if suitable nominations are received.

Nomination arrangements: Nominations should be submitted by email to:

Nominations for the award will be reviewed by the Membership, Qualification and Education (MQ&E) Committee. If there is only one nomination, then MQ&E should vote to confirm whether the nomination is eligible and, if so, to approve the award. 

If there is more than one nomination, then the entries should be sent for judging by a panel set up for the purpose. Four members of the panel are to be appointed by MQ&E. Each judge will be invited to score the entries on a point scale of 0 to 3 and send the scores to Karen Cambridge, who will total the scores, and the entry receiving the most points will be declared the winner.  

Awarding arrangements: The award will be made at the NDT Annual Conference Dinner and will be awarded by the Chair of MQ&E.

Committee: MQ&E Committee.


2021 winner: Neil Harrap

The Hugh MacColl Award for 2021 is awarded to Neil Harrap.

Neil Harrap has over 40 years of experience in engineering and non-destructive evaluation (NDE), the first 30 of which were spent serving the UK in the Royal Air Force, before retiring as Chief Technician, Eng Tech NDE in 2005. He initially continued his NDE career as a Civil Servant, before entering full civilian life as Principal Project Leader (NDE Lecturer) at The Welding Institute in Cambridge. Since 2020, he has become a freelance consultant/lecturer and, more recently, Director of Business Development at Ondia NDE Inc.

Neil has held certification in all NDE methods over the years, but since 2007 has concentrated on the advanced methods of phased array ultrasonic testing (PAUT), time-of-flight diffraction (TOFD), engineering critical assessment (ECA) and now artificial intelligence (AI) for NDE data analysis. He has a passion for innovation, a thirst for knowledge and embraces the digital enhancements that bring an increased assurance of integrity to NDE. He enthusiastically shares this with others through his teaching, lectures and conference presentations, which he has conducted extensively in many countries across seven continents.

Past winners:
1989    Chief Tech G Metcalfe
1990    Mr G Elliott
1991    Mr M J Nicholas
1992    Dr S R Oaten
1998    Mr K Coultate
1999    No Award
2000    No Award
2001    No Award
2002    No Award
2003    Mr T Armitt
2004    No Award
2005    No Award
2006    No Award
2007    Mr C Ward
2008    No Award
2009    No Award
2010    No Award
2011    No Award
2012    Mr J Drury
2013    No Award
2014    No Award
2015    No Award
2016    No Award
2017    Doug O’Hare
2018    Ian Jones
2019    No Award
2020    Dr Abdeldjalil Bennecer

A nomination form can be downloaded here.

Details of all Institute awards can be found here.