The John Grimwade Medal

Publications Award 

The John Grimwade Medal was instituted in 1981 as a memorial to the late E J Grimwade MC, HonFInstNDT, an outstanding pioneer of NDT in Great Britain. The medal is awarded annually to the author of the best paper by a Member to appear in the Institute’s journal.

2017 winners: Professor Peter Charlton, Dr Stephen Mosey, Dr Miles Wes
ton and
Dr Mark Sutcliffe

The recipients of the John Grimwade Medal for 2017 are Professor Peter Charlton, Dr Stephen Mosey, Dr Miles Weston and Dr Mark Sutcliffe for their paper, titled: ‘Virtual source aperture imaging and calibration for ultrasonic inspections through dual- layered media for non-destructive testing’, which was published in Insight, Vol 59, No 11, November 2017
(DOI: 10.1784/insi.2017.59.11.596).

Professor Peter Charlton is currently Professor in Applied NDT at the University of Wales Trinity Saint David. He has 30 years of industrial and academic experience in the research and
development of advanced automated electromagnetic and ultrasonic NDT imaging systems for the petrochemical, power generation and aerospace industries. He is responsible for engagement with key industrial partners and PhD and MSc research supervision within the School of Engineering.

Dr Stephen Mosey is a senior lecturer in the school of applied computing at the University of Wales Trinity Saint David. He has over 15 years’ industrial and academic experience in the development of advanced ultrasonic imaging equipment for NDT inspection applications in oil & gas, nuclear, aerospace, manufacturing and rail. In 2013, he gained a doctorate in signal and image processing for NDT (resolution enhancement of B-mode ultrasound images) with the University of Wales Trinity Saint David.

Dr Miles Weston is currently the NDT Product Development Team Manager at TWI Technology Centre (Wales) and is responsible for the development of novel non-destructive testing and evaluation technologies from concept through to commercialisation. With over ten years of industry experience he has managed teams delivering inspection solutions in sectors including military, aerospace, oil & gas and power generation. In 2012, Miles gained his engineering doctorate in advanced ultrasonic digital imaging and signal processing for applications in the field of non-destructive testing.

Dr Mark Sutcliffe is a senior project leader with TWI, specialising in novel
ultrasonic data acquisition and imaging solutions. With over 20 years of industrial experience, in 2015 he gained a doctorate in NDT (time-critical synthetic transmit aperture ultrasound imaging) with the University of Wales Trinity Saint David. Mark has developed and delivered NDT inspection systems for use in nuclear, aerospace and space exploration.

Past winners:

1980    Mr S I Ibrahim and Mr V N Whittaker
1981    Mr D A W Pullen
1982    Mr R F Lumb
1983    Dr J M Farley and Mr J L Thomson
1984    Mr A N Robinson, Mr P Nolan and Mr G A Raine
1985    Mr C N Owston
1986    Dr D N Shackleton

1987    Dr J Ogilvy
1988    Dr P Highmore and Dr K A Short
1989    Dr G A Georgiou
1990    Dr P A Cawley
1991    Dr A McNab

1992    Dr J R Rudlin and Dr L C Wolstenholme
1993    Prof J H Bungey
1994    Dr F A Wedgwood
1995    Mr R A Smith
1996    Dr A McNab and Dr A Cochran
1997    Prof G Hayward, Mr R Banks and Mr R Farlow
1998    Prof G Hayward and Mr P Reynolds
1999    Dr A Khalid
2000    Dr B W Drinkwater, Dr A M Robinson and Dr R J Freemantle
2001    Mr R A Smith and Dr G R Hugo
2002    Dr S Dixon, Dr C Edwards and Prof S B Palmer
2003    Dr L L Morgan, Mr P Nolan, Mr A Kirkham and Mr R Wilkinson
2004    Dr E A Birt, Mr L D Jones, Mr R A Smith and Prof C B Scruby
2005    Dr A Sophian, Dr R S Edwards, Prof G-Y Tian, Dr S Dixon, Dr D Topp and Dr M Smith
2006    Mrs A Whittle
2007    Prof P Cawley
2008    Dr L Nelson
2009    Dr R A Smith    
2010    Mr C Lane
2011    Prof D P Almond
2012    Prof P Cawley
2013    Prof D Mery

2014    Prof P Cawley, Dr N Brierley and Dr T Tippetts

2015    Dr C Mineo, Prof S G Pierce, Mr B Wright, Prof I Cooper and Dr P I Nicholson
2016    Dr Chris Ward and Dr Colin Brett

Details of publications awards can be found here.

Details of all Institute awards can be found here.