The John Grimwade Medal

Publications Award 

The John Grimwade Medal was instituted in 1981 as a memorial to the late E J Grimwade MC, HonFInstNDT, an outstanding pioneer of NDT in Great Britain. The medal is awarded annually to the author of the best paper by a Member to appear in the Institute’s journal.

2019 winners: Dr David A Gunn, Simon J Holyoake, Dr Ben A J Dashwood, Dr Paul B Wilkinson, Dr Colin R Brett,
Humphrey C Wallis, Wayne Leman and Professor John G Rees

The recipients of the John Grimwade Medal for 2019 are Dr David A Gunn, Simon J Holyoake, Dr Ben A J Dashwood,
Dr Paul B Wilkinson, Dr Colin R Brett, Humphrey C Wallis
, Wayne Leman and Professor John G Rees for their paper, titled:
Ultrasonic testing of laboratory
samples representing monopile wind turbine foundations’, which was published in
, Vol 61,
No 4, April 2019 (DOI: 10.1784/insi.2019.61.4.187).

Dr David Gunn is a Principal Scientific Officer working for the British Geological Survey (BGS). He is an engineering geophysicist who has spent 28 years at the BGS developing novel geophysical seismic and electrical methods. David’s work includes geotechnical imaging via seismic proxy, applied for anatomical assessment of geotechnical assets.

Simon Holyoake is a Research Electronics Engineer at the BGS specialising in instrumentation development. He joined the BGS in 2007 with a BEng in electronics engineering and has specialised in the development of specialist instrumentation for geophysical and geotechnical property measurement and characterisation. In 2013, Simon undertook work using bespoke ultrasonic transducers to develop techniques to assess the quality of marine engineered structures, leading both the instrument development and laboratory testing programmes.

Dr Ben Dashwood is an engineering geophysicist who, prior to joining the BGS, worked in consultancy, undertaking a wide range of near-surface geophysical surveying predominantly in the transportation sector. His present research investigates how geotechnical parameters may be measured non-invasively via geophysical proxies, with a particular focus on the use of seismi
c techniques.

Dr Paul Wilkinson is a theoretical geophysicist who has worked for 16 years at the BGS researching and developing geophysical imaging and monitoring techniques. Recent innovations include time-lapse electrical resistivity for monitoring moisture-driven earthwork stability, surface movement detection using geoelectrical monitoring data and modelling the ultrasonic diagnosis of monopile foundation conditions.

Dr Colin Brett is currently the Director of Technology with the UK Research Centre in Non-Destructive Evaluation (RCNDE). Previously, he worked for 35 years in the power gen
eration industry, where he managed and delivered non-destructive testing solutions for nuclear, coal, oil, gas and renewable generation assets. The work recognised by this award was performed while he was Head of Inspection at Uniper Technologies Ltd, based near Nottingham in the UK.

Humphrey Wallis is a mechanical engineer who joined the BGS in 1991. He has managed the Research and Development Engineering facility for the last 21 years. Humphrey and the te
am serve the needs of the scientific community through the design and manufacture of equipment that cannot be acquired commercially.

Wayne Leman is a Senior Technician with the Research and Development Engineering facili
ty at the BGS, joining the team in 2000. He is a time-served engineer who trained in the defence industry. Over the last 20 years, Wayne has contributed to many innovative projects supporting geoscience.

Professor John Rees has been a representative on several government advisory boards for risk reduction. His appointments include former leadership of the Natural Environment Research Council (NERC) Natural Hazards Theme and, as of 2020, is Director of the Multi-Hazard and Resilience Challenge at the BGS.

John has led research and innovation to characterise major earth hazards, evaluate natural resources and address environmental impacts and was responsible for overseeing the BGS’s important national seismic and geomagnetic observatories.

Past winners:

1980    Mr S I Ibrahim and Mr V N Whittaker
1981    Mr D A W Pullen
1982    Mr R F Lumb
1983    Dr J M Farley and Mr J L Thomson
1984    Mr A N Robinson, Mr P Nolan and Mr G A Raine
1985    Mr C N Owston
1986    Dr D N Shackleton

1987    Dr J Ogilvy
1988    Dr P Highmore and Dr K A Short
1989    Dr G A Georgiou
1990    Dr P A Cawley
1991    Dr A McNab

1992    Dr J R Rudlin and Dr L C Wolstenholme
1993    Prof J H Bungey
1994    Dr F A Wedgwood
1995    Mr R A Smith
1996    Dr A McNab and Dr A Cochran
1997    Prof G Hayward, Mr R Banks and Mr R Farlow
1998    Prof G Hayward and Mr P Reynolds
1999    Dr A Khalid
2000    Dr B W Drinkwater, Dr A M Robinson and Dr R J Freemantle
2001    Mr R A Smith and Dr G R Hugo
2002    Dr S Dixon, Dr C Edwards and Prof S B Palmer
2003    Dr L L Morgan, Mr P Nolan, Mr A Kirkham and Mr R Wilkinson
2004    Dr E A Birt, Mr L D Jones, Mr R A Smith and Prof C B Scruby
2005    Dr A Sophian, Dr R S Edwards, Prof G-Y Tian, Dr S Dixon, Dr D Topp and Dr M Smith
2006    Mrs A Whittle
2007    Prof P Cawley
2008    Dr L Nelson
2009    Dr R A Smith    
2010    Mr C Lane
2011    Prof D P Almond
2012    Prof P Cawley
2013    Prof D Mery

2014    Prof P Cawley, Dr N Brierley and Dr T Tippetts

2015    Dr C Mineo, Prof S G Pierce, Mr B Wright, Prof I Cooper and Dr P I Nicholson
2016    Dr Chris Ward and Dr Colin Brett
    Professor Peter Charlton, Dr Stephen Mosey, Dr Miles Weston and Dr Mark Sutcliffe
2018    Dr Colin R Brett, Dr David A Gunn, Dr Ben A J Dashwood, Simon J Holyoake and Dr Paul B Wilkinson

Details of publications awards can be found here.

Details of all Institute awards can be found here.