The Ron Halmshaw Award

Publications Award 

The Ron Halmshaw Award, established in 1994 through the generosity of Dr R Halmshaw MBE, is for the best paper published in Insight on any aspect of industrial radiography or radiology.

2017 winners:
Domingo Mery, Vladimir Riffo, Irene Zuccar and Christian Pieringer

The 2017 winners are Domingo Mery, Vladimir Riffo, Irene Zuccar and Christian Pieringer for their paper, titled: ‘Object recognition in X-ray testing using an efficient search algorithm in multiple views’, which appeared in Insight, Vol 59, No 2, February 2017
(DOI: 10.1784/insi.2017.59.2.85).

Vladimir Riffo is Full Professor in the Department of Computer Engineering and Computer Science at Universidad de Atacama, Copiapó, Chile, where he has been Director twice, once from 2006 to 2008 and currently, a position he has held since 2016. Vladimir received a BScEng degree in electronic engineering from Universidad de Antofagasta in Antofagasta, Chile, in 1998. He also gained an MEng degree in 2011 and a PhD degree in engineering sciences in 2016, both from Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile (UC) in Santiago, Chile.

Vladimir is a Fellow of GRIMA, a Machine Intelligence Group at UC. His current research interests include pattern recognition, object detection, automatic visual inspection, computer vision using multiple views and X-ray testing, as well as methods of combining these approaches.

Vladimir received a scholarship for his PhD studies from Comisión Nacional de Investigación Científica y Tecnológica (CONICYT). He was a recipient of the Ron Halmshaw Award in 2012 and the John Grimwade Medal in 2013, from the British Institute of Non-Destructive Testing (BINDT).

Domingo Mery is Full Professor with the Department of Computer Science at the Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile (UC), Chile. He received a Diploma (MSc) in electrical engineering from the Technical University of Karlsruhe, Germany, in 1992, and a PhD with distinction from the Technical University of Berlin, Germany, in 2000. He was then a Research Scientist with the Institute for Measurement and Automation Technology at the Technical University of
Berlin, in collaboration with Yxlon X-Ray International. Domingo was the recipient of scholarships from both the Konrad Adenauer Foundation and the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) for his PhD work. In 2001, he became Associate Research in the Department of Computer Engineering at the University of Santiago, Chile.

Before taking up his current position at UC, Domingo was Chair of the Computer Science Department at UC from 2005 to 2009, Associate Visiting Professor with the Computer Vision Research Lab at the University of Notre Dame from 2014 to 2015 and Director of Research and Innovation with the School of Engineering at UC between 2015 and 2018.

Domingo currently serves as Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Information Forensics and Security and the International Journal of Fuzzy Logic and Intelligent Systems. In addition, he is the Editor of I3 Journal for Research, Interdiscipline and Innovation at the School of Engineering, UC. His research interests include image processing for fault detection in aluminium castings, X-ray imaging, real-time programming and computer vision and he is the author of more than 60 technical SCI publications and over 70 conference papers. Domingo served as Local Co-Chair for the 2015 International Conference on Computer Vision (ICCV15), Programme General Chair for the 2007 Pacific-Rim Symposium on Image and Video Technology (PSIVT 2007), Programme Chair for PSIVT 2009 and General Co-Chair for PSIVT 2011 and the 2007 Iberoamerican Congress on Pattern Recognition.

Past winners:
1995    J-E Holmström
1996    Dr E A Birt
1997    A B Wooldridge, Dr R K Chapman, Dr G A Georgiou, I Munns and G S Woodcock
1998    Dr S Ekinci, N Bas, M Aksu, A Yıldırım, M Bingöldag, T Kurtcebe, M Dogruöz, S Sarıçam and N Yılmaz
1999    A McNulty, J McNab and W K J Greenwood
2000    P R Vaidya
2001    R R da Silva, M H S Siqueira, L P Calôba and J M A Rebello
2002    A G Vincent, V Rebuffel, R Guillemaud, L Gerfault and P Y Coulon
2003    Dr G A Georgiou and Mr C R A Schneider
2004    S Smalley and G Wilson
2005    D Mery, D Hahn and N Hitschfeld
2006    Dr G-R Jaenisch, C Bellon, U Samadurau, M E Zhukovskiy and S V Podoliako
2007    V Rebuffel and J-M Dinten
2008    S F Burch and B A Stow
2009    Q Shen, J Gao and C Li
2010    K Arunmutha, P Arun Kumar, T Saravanan, J Philip, T Jayakumar and B Raj
2011    Dr S F Burch
2012    V Riffo and D Mery / J Guo, L Zeng, B Li and W Yu
2013    X Zhao, J-J Hu, T Yang and F Wang
2014    W Gao and Y H Hu
2015    Ge Lijing, Li Linsheng, Xie Jialong and Lin Guoxiang
2016    Changying Dang, Jianmin Gao, Zhao Wang, Yulin Xiao and Yalin Zhao

Details of publications awards can be found here.

Details of all Institute awards can be found here.