Roy Sharpe Prize

Open Award 

The Roy Sharpe Prize is awarded by the Technical Committee of the Institute in recognition of a significant contribution through research and development in NDT to the benefit of industry or society and is sponsored each year by a different Corporate member. It was awarded for the first time in 1989 and is named in honour of Roy Sharpe, founder of the National NDT Centre at Harwell.

2017 winner: Professor Steve Dixon
IMechE Engineering Training Solutions

In 2017, the Roy Sharpe Prize was funded by IMechE Engineering Training Solutions and is awarded to Professor Steve Dixon.

Steve Dixon has worked in NDT research for 27 years, during which time he has been involved in a number of collaborative research and development (R&D) projects with many different industrial and academic partners.

After obtaining a physics degree from Oxford in 1991, Steve went on to undertake a PhD at the University of Warwick, where he now holds appointments in the Department of Physics and the School of Engineering. He has held Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) Advanced and Established Career Fellowships, a Royal Academy of Engineering Fellowship and a Royal Society Industry Fellowship. Steve has been a member of the EPSRC-funded UK Research Centre in NDE since it was founded and more recently, in 2011, he established the Centre for Industrial Ultrasonics at the University of Warwick, in order to make it easier for industry, and particularly small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), to engage with university research. He was also the Editor-in-Chief of Nondestructive Testing and Evaluation for over a decade and is on the editorial boards of several NDT journals.

Steve is passionate about outreach and the group regularly engages with many different initiatives, visiting science fairs, schools and bringing people into the university to show them how research can translate into real world benefits and hopefully to convince children from under-represented backgrounds that they can go to university and benefit from it. Steve’s current research interests include ultrasonic transduction and instrumentation, eddy current methods and thermography, and he has published over 200 papers in a range of journals and conference proceedings. He has founded three spin-out companies to commercialise the results of his group’s research and has a number of technology IP licenses with organisations ranging from SMEs to large multinational companies.

During the NDT 2018 Conference in Nottingham, Steve presented his Roy Sharpe Prize Lecture, titled: ‘You can look but you must not touch’. 

Past winners:
Dr M G Silk
Du Pont (UK) Ltd

Prof W D Dover,
Dr R Collins and
Prof D H Michael

British Aerospace (Space Systems) Ltd
Dr R K ChapmanStanger Consultants Ltd
Prof R E ChallisRTD Quality Services
Mr C Baxter and
Dr A T Jones
Fuji Photo Film (UK) Ltd
Prof G HaywardAEA Sonomatic
Dr R V Booler,
Dr D E Hook and
Mr J E Pearce
Amersham QSA
Dr P CawleyLavender International NDT Ltd
Mr R A SmithMinton, Treharne & Davies Ltd
Dr C B ScrubyIMF Technical Services Ltd

Dr A McNab

DERA Farnborough

Prof W Lord

Peak NDT Ltd
Dr G-R TillackRoyal & Sun Alliance
Prof S B Palmer A T Roffey & Co Ltd
Prof R DewhurstInnogy plc
Dr D HarrisonSercal NDT Equipment Ltd
Dr J Tyrer
Ultramag Inspection Systems Ltd
Prof R Bruce ThompsonSouth West School of NDT
Prof D AlmondRSL (Aberdeen) Ltd
Dr M ToftAGR Field Operations
Prof P NagyTWI Ltd
Prof B DrinkwaterArdrox Engineering
Prof M J S LoweInspectahire Instrument Co Ltd
Prof G DobmannLavender International NDT Ltd
Prof K BalasubramaniamUltrasonic Sciences Ltd
Dr J RoseComposite Inspection Ltd
Prof C B Scruby TSC Inspection Systems
Prof Dr U Ewert
South West School of NDT
Professor Paul David

South West School of NDT

A nomination form can be downloaded here.

Details of all Institute awards can be found here.