Aerospace Group


Aerospace is one of the specialist groups set up within the British Institute of NDT and, as its name implies, endeavours to promote the advancement of the science and practice of NDT in the aerospace sector of non-destructive testing. Membership of the group is open to anyone who is a full member of the Institute and who has an interest in the aerospace industry.

The group is directed by the Aerospace Executive Committee, membership of which is elected from aircraft and equipment manufacturers as well as the CAA, research organisations, training schools and independent inspection companies. Maintenance and repair organisations as well as airlines are also represented, in fact any organisation involved in civil or military air transportation.

Prior to the establishment of the National Aerospace NDT Board (NANDTB), to meet the requirements of the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA), the Institute’s Aerospace Executive Committee was heavily involved in recommending, defining and advising on regulatory and certification issues specific to the aerospace industry, in both manufacturing and in-service maintenance environments. Now that the NANDTB handles these issues, the Aerospace Executive Committee has taken on a broader and more strategic role aimed at identifying and removing barriers to progress in the beneficial use of NDT in the UK’s aerospace industry. The new role is defined by the following objectives.

Aims of the Aerospace Executive Committee:
  • To define NDT requirements to meet future aerospace industry goals.
  • To develop roadmaps for NDT technologies to guide knowledge generators (for example universities and RTOs) towards aerospace industry goals.
  • To change the perception of NDT into being a solution rather than a burden, by promoting the benefits of NDT methods within the design, production and maintenance communities.
  • To promote and enable the introduction of new NDT technologies by identifying and tackling barriers, and through scientific evaluation, validation and education of manufacturing and maintenance supply chains.
  • Through collaboration with the NANDTB and ADS NDT SIG (in the Joint Aerospace NDT Forum), to provide a conduit into BINDT for aerospace-specific requirements.
Working Documents for the Aerospace Executive Committee:

Working Document
Aerospace Committee Terms of Reference
Aerospace Committee Objectives
Objective 3 – Promoting NDT as a benefit
Objective 4 – New technologies
Technique Validation and Qualification
Sept 2014

Names and contact details for members of the Aerospace Executive Committee:

Chair: Dr M Mienczakowski

Vice Chair: Dr D Hallam

The following may be contacted via the Secretariat:

Mr A Bakewell, Mr T J Barden, Mr T Bertenshaw, Mr T Blacklay, Mr A Bond-Thorley, Mr P Boulton, Mr P Burrows, Mrs K Cambridge, Mr G Chapman, Mr P Conlin, Mr I Cooper, Mr J Dugard, Mr P Edwards, Mr Paul Evans, Mr Phil Evans, Professor P Foote, Dr R Freemantle, Mr R I Gifford, Mr R Gregory, Mr I Griffin, Mr M Gresil, Dr D Hallam, Mr A Heaton, Mrs K Hickman, Mr T Howell, Mr A D Jackson, Mr N K Jadav, Mr C G Kempster, Mr C Lane, Mrs A Lawlor, Mr G McCully, Mr J Moody, Dr L Nelson, Mr A Parsons, Mr T Parsons, Mr D G Perrett, Mr D Phillips, Mr K Phillips, Mr K Pickup, Mr J Pugh, Mr M Rosli, Mr Rob Rose, Ms Z Sharif, Professor L K Shark, Professor R A Smith, Mr M Spicer, Mr S Wisniewski, Mr M A Woodhouse, Mr C Worrall, Mr D Wylie and Mr A Young.