The Jim Cottier Travel Scholarship

Award for BINDT members, Events Award 

Award criteria

Purpose: The Institute recognises that attendance at international conferences, with the opportunity to meet a wide range of other workers active in NDT/CM/SHM, can be a very worthwhile and rewarding experience. Whilst many organisations are very supportive in professional development of their staff, it is not always possible for Institute members to demonstrate to their employers that the benefits of international visits justify the costs involved. This is particularly true of students and young professionals, but these are often the very people who would benefit most from such an opportunity.

Details of the award: The award will consist of a contribution towards travel, subsistence and conference fees. The amount will be typically up to £1000 but will be dependent on the particular circumstances (conference location and duration, etc).

Eligibility: Applicants should be full voting members of BINDT, who are either students or are within the first five years of employment. 

The proposer of the award should be a voting member of the Institute. If they are not, they will need to ensure the application is endorsed by an Institute voting member.

Frequency: The award will be made annually for attendance at an international conference or a coherent travel proposal, such as visiting an overseas research centre or industrial site, which is judged to benefit the professional development of the recipient.

The recipient would be asked to provide a feedback report to the Institute, indicating benefits or problems, to help ensure that future awards meet their objectives.

The prize will be awarded annually and will only be issued if suitable nominations are received.

Nomination arrangements: The application should demonstrate that the award will help in the continuing professional development of the applicant and be supported by a referee who would normally be their tutor or manager.

Awarding arrangements: The certificate will be presented at the Annual Conference Dinner and will be awarded by one of the Presidents.

Committee: Council is responsible for nominations and a judging panel will consist of five members, normally the Chair (or other representative) from MQ&E, CMC, NDTTC, CMTC and the Trade & Industry Committee.


The Jim Cottier Travel Scholarship was not awarded in 2023.

Past recipients of the scholarship:
2002    G J Belben
2005    Dr V Vassou and B Lanyon
2007    M Hutchinson
2017    P R Dheeraj
2018    J Mair
2019    N Shipway
2020    No Award
2021    No Award
2022    No Award

A nomination form can be downloaded here.

Details of all Institute awards can be found here.