The Ron Halmshaw Award

Open award for members and non-members, Publications Award 

Award criteria

Purpose: The Ron Halmshaw Award is awarded for the best paper published in Insight in the preceding year, on any aspect of industrial radiography or radiology.

Details of the award:
 The prize is in the form of a certificate and a fixed award sum (£350) by cash from the Ron Halmshaw Fund. (In the case of non-members, part of the prize would be one year's membership.)


Eligibility: To be eligible, the paper must be on the appropriate subject and may be contributed by a member or a non-member.


Frequency: Yearly, if a suitable candidate is deemed.


Nomination arrangements: All members of the Institute’s NDT Sub-Committee will be invited to submit nominations for the award.


Entries: Entries submitted (on a form to be made available by the Institute) will be sent to the Secretary of the Institute.

Awarding arrangements:
 In January each year, a memo is issued to the judging panel, containing voting instructions, marking sheet, shortlist of name(s), paper title, issue, month and page number and a voting form embossed with the Institute seal. The deadline for return to the Secretariat is 31 March. A judging panel of three is appointed by the NDT Sub-Committee.


In the interest of achieving fair, bias-free results, a system is operated that requires each panel member (any listed authors excepted) to vote anonymously to the Awards Secretary, who is responsible for totalling up the points awarded and notifying the winner to the Secretary.


Publicity: The award will be fully reported in Institute publications and the Secretariat will issue details in a press release to the technical and engineering institutional press.


Presentation: The prize will normally be presented at the NDT Annual Conference, though another appropriate Institute event may be chosen if necessary.

NDT Sub-Committee.


2022 winners:
 Abdel Rahman Dakak, Valérie Kaftandjian, Philippe Duvauchelle and Patrick Bouvet

The 2022 winners are Abdel Rahman Dakak, Valérie Kaftandjian, Philippe Duvauchelle and Patrick Bouvet for their paper,
titled: ‘Deep learning-based defect detection in industrial CT volumes of castings’, which appeared in Insight, Vol 64, No 11,
pp 647-658, November 2022 (DOI: 10.1784/insi.2022.64.11.647).

Past winners:

1995    J-E Holmström
1996    Dr E A Birt
1997    A B Wooldridge, Dr R K Chapman, Dr G A Georgiou, I Munns and G S Woodcock
1998    Dr S Ekinci, N Bas, M Aksu, A Yıldırım, M Bingöldag, T Kurtcebe, M Dogruöz, S Sarıçam and N Yılmaz
1999    A McNulty, J McNab and W K J Greenwood
2000    P R Vaidya
2001    R R da Silva, M H S Siqueira, L P Calôba and J M A Rebello
2002    A G Vincent, V Rebuffel, R Guillemaud, L Gerfault and P Y Coulon
2003    Dr G A Georgiou and Mr C R A Schneider
2004    S Smalley and G Wilson
2005    D Mery, D Hahn and N Hitschfeld
2006    Dr G-R Jaenisch, C Bellon, U Samadurau, M E Zhukovskiy and S V Podoliako
2007    V Rebuffel and J-M Dinten
2008    S F Burch and B A Stow
2009    Q Shen, J Gao and C Li
2010    K Arunmutha, P Arun Kumar, T Saravanan, J Philip, T Jayakumar and B Raj
2011    Dr S F Burch
2012    V Riffo and D Mery / J Guo, L Zeng, B Li and W Yu
2013    X Zhao, J-J Hu, T Yang and F Wang
2014    W Gao and Y H Hu
2015    Ge Lijing, Li Linsheng, Xie Jialong and Lin Guoxiang
2016    Changying Dang, Jianmin Gao, Zhao Wang, Yulin Xiao and Yalin Zhao
2017    Domingo Mery, Vladimir Riffo, Irene Zuccar and Christian Pieringer
2018    Stefano Ridolfi
2019    Johann Kastner, Christian Gusenbauer, Bernhard Plank, Jonathan Glinz and Sascha Senck
2020    Andreas Michael Stock, Gabriel Herl, Professor Dr Tomas Sauer and Professor Dr-Ing Jochen Hiller
2021    Mahdi Mirzapour, Amir Movafeghi and Effat Yahaghi

Details of publications awards can be found here.

Details of all Institute awards can be found here.