The Tony Lager Award

Award for BINDT members, Branch Award 

Award information

About the award: The Tony Lager Award was introduced in 1996 in honour of the late Tony Lager, who served the Institute for many years on head office and Branch committees, including Council. Tony passed away in July 1996. The award is for meritorious service to an Institute Branch by an individual.

Purpose: For meritorious service to an Institute Branch by an individual.

Details of the award:

Framed certificate, plus £200.

Eligibility: Any individual Institute member.

Nomination arrangements: Branches to nominate. Contributions to the Branch and other Institute activities should be described.



2022 winner: Fraser Hardie

The Tony Lager Award for 2022 is awarded to Fraser Hardie.

Fraser Hardie’s career in non-destructive testing (NDT) commenced with a three-month training course in ultrasonic testing (UT) at the Scottish School of NDT, in Paisley, in 1982. After a short stint in the NDT department at Yarrow Shipbuilders, he moved across the River Clyde to join Babcock Research Centre in 1984, remaining there until he retired in March this year.

Fraser was a member of Mike Farley’s advanced NDT team, initially developing and qualifying automated UT systems for the naval pressurised water reactors (PWRs) and for the Central Electricity Generating Board (CEGB)’s new civil PWR, Sizewell B.

He went on to lead NDT teams, annually performing advanced UT at the Atomic Energy Authority (AEA)’s Prototype Fast Reactor at Dounreay, UK, until its closure in 1994.

He continued to develop and prove specialised techniques for the remainder of his career, immersing himself in the NDT industry through BINDT, IIW (a working group on austenitic weld UT), the Programme for the Assessment of NDT in Industry (PANI), the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI), HOIS and many other forums.

Fraser has attended BINDT Branch meetings, seminars and conferences regularly throughout his career and has been an enthusiastic member of the Scottish Branch committee for around 30 years, serving as Secretary and Chairman along the way. He continues to participate and support BINDT in retirement.

The Tony Lager Award was originally established as a prize for the Institute Branch achieving the highest number of new members in the year. This criterion was altered after 2000; until then the winners of the award were:

1995    North West
1996    Solent
1997    London and Home Counties
1998    West of England/West Midlands
1999    South Wales/West of England
2000    South Wales 

Since then, the award has been for meritorious service to an Institute Branch by an individual. The past winners are:

2002    Mr A Raine
2003    Mr P Stephens
2004    Mr J Pouncy
2012    Mr D Breeze and Mr B Webb
2013    Mr B Murray, Mr D Betts and Mr M R Dawson
2014    Mr B Shannon
2015    Mr A Hunscott
2019    Mr B Naylor
2020    Dr Mike Farley BSc PhD FInstNDT FInstEnergy
2021    Pete Burrows MInstNDT

A nomination form can be downloaded here.

Details of Branch awards can be found here.

Details of all Institute awards can be found here.