Branch Calendar 2022-2023

BINDT Branches 

If anyone is willing or interested in providing talks to Branches, please contact Cindy Bailey at BINDT (cindy.bailey@bindt.org) with an indication of the preferred geographical areas where you could assist.
AUGUST 2022
West of England Branch: Monday 8 August 2022

Venue:
Swan Inn, Lower Tockington Road, Tockington, Bristol, BS32 4NJ.


Early Careers Branch: Thursday 18 August 2022

ECB Annual General Meeting (AGM) and summer social
Venue: Museum of Making, Derby.


North West Branch: Monday 29 August 2022

Annual General Meeting (AGM)
from 5.00pm.
Venue: Online.
The meeting will be a webinar hosted via Zoom and registration is required in advance at:
https://us06web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_vKI41cGbRHq3Sf8LUxVnlw
On completion of registration a confirmation email will be sent containing the joining instructions for the webinar.

 

SEPTEMBER 2022
Early Careers Branch: Wednesday 10 September 2022

ECB charity event – Tough Mudder

Venue: Chester.


West of England Branch: Monday 12 September 2022

Venue:
Swan Inn, Lower Tockington Road, Tockington, Bristol, BS32 4NJ.


South Wales Branch: Wednesday 14 September 2022

South Wales Aviation Museum (SWAM) – ‘An evening at the museum’*

by Mr Phil Edwards
from 6.00 pm.
Venue:
St Athan.


East Midlands Branch: Wednesday 21 September 2022

Lecture competition*

Venue:
Virtual


North East Scotland Branch: Friday 23 September 2022

Annual Branch golf outing

Venue:
Edzell Golf Club.


North West Branch: Monday 26 September 2022

Case Metals Federation*

by Pam Murrell and Angela Mason.
Venue:
Online.


London and Home Counties Branch: Thursday 29 September 2022

Ground-penetrating radar – Principles and capabilities*

by Michael Aerts, Sercal, plus
Annual General Meeting (AGM)

This meeting will be a webinar hosted via Zoom and registration is required in advance by email to: karen.cambridge@bindt.org


OCTOBER 2022

Scottish Branch: Thursday 6 October 2022
Lunch and learn – Title to be confirmed*
Venue:
IMechE Fife NDT, Dunfermline.
12.00 pm-2.00 pm.


North East Scotland Branch: Thursday 6 October 2022

Remote visual inspection, robotic systems and laser profiling*

Remote presentation and demonstration,
by Eddyfi Technologies.

3.00 pm-5.00 pm.

Venue:
Online.


West of England Branch: Monday 10 October 2022

Venue:
Swan Inn, Lower Tockington Road, Tockington, Bristol, BS32 4NJ.


Yorkshire Branch: Wednesday 12 October 2022

Thermography*

by Steve Ince, Foerster.

Venue:
Online.


South Wales Branch: Wednesday 19 October 2022

Online BINDT meeting

Speaker to be confirmed.

Contact:
Jason Richards.


East Midlands Branch: Wednesday 19 October 2022

How to re-launch the East Midlands Branch*

Venue:
A pub in Derby.


Early Careers Branch: Thursday 20 October 2022

NDT apprenticeships case studies*

by Andy Zubczyk, Rolls-Royce.
5.00 pm-6.00 pm.
Venue:
Online.
Hosted by the Early Careers Branch.
Note: This is a National Branch Meeting.


North West Branch: Monday 24 October 2022

Get together/social event

Venue:
To be confirmed.

NOVEMBER 2022


North East Scotland Branch: Thursday 3 November 2022

A practical guide to laser profiling*

by David Emery, Matrix Inspection.
3.00 pm-5.00 pm.
Venue:
Jury's Inn, Aberdeen Airport (also available online).

South Wales Branch: Wednesday 9 November 2022

Aston Martin Lagonda (To be confirmed)*

Contact: Phil Edwards.
Venue:
St Athan.

London and Home Counties Branch: Thursday 10 November 2022

To be confirmed*
by Matthew Davison, Elcometer.

Early Careers Branch: Friday 11 November 2022
Implementing NDT 4.0*
by Tom Martin, JetSoft.
Venue: Leeds (also available online).

West of England Branch: Monday 14 November 2022
Venue: Swan Inn, Lower Tockington Road, Tockington, Bristol BS32 4NJ.

Yorkshire Branch: Tuesday 15 November 2022

New services update and debunking TFMi*
Speaker to be confirmed.
Venue: IMechE Argyll Ruane, 4 Europa Way, Sheffield S9 1XH (also available online).


East Midlands Branch: Wednesday 16 November 2022

A tour of the X-ray CT facility and other NDT areas*

Venue:
Intertek, Derby.

Scottish Branch: Thursday 17 November 2022

Improving on the 6 dB drop technique for determination of flaw length*

by Paul Holloway, Holloway NDT, Canada.

6.00 pm-7.00 pm.

Venue:
Online.

Note: This is a National Branch Meeting.


North West Branch: Monday 28 November 2022

Career journey*

by Denize Ivy Pilarta, BAE Systems.

Venue:
Online.

 

DECEMBER 2022

Yorkshire Branch: Thursday 1 December 2022
A hot topic: on-stream UT inspection*
by Tim Stevenson, Ionix.
6.00 pm-7.00 pm.
Venue: Nuclear AMRC Advanced Manufacturing Park, University of Sheffield, Brunel Way, Catcliffe, Rotherham, S60 5WG
(also available online).
Note: This is a National Branch Meeting.

North East Scotland Branch: Thursday 1 December 2022
Remote visual inspection – Update on the latest technologies and systems*
by Baker Hughes.
3.00 pm-5.00 pm.
Venue: Jury’s Inn, Aberdeen Airport (also available online – to be confirmed).

Early Careers Branch: Monday 12 December 2022
NDT Christmas quiz
hosted by Sam Cunningham.
Venue: IMechE Argyll Ruane, Sheffield.

West of England Branch: Monday 12 December 2022 
Venue: Swan Inn, Lower Tockington Road, Tockington, Bristol, BS32 4NJ.

South Wales Branch: December 2022 (Date to be confirmed)
Christmas dinner
Contact: Michelle Clapham.
Venue: To be confirmed.

JANUARY 2023
West of England Branch: Monday 9 January 2023
Venue: Swan Inn, Lower Tockington Road, Tockington, Bristol, BS32 4NJ.

South Wales Branch: Wednesday 11 January 2023
Post Christmas dinner and President Elect’s dinner
Contact: Phil Edwards.
Venue: The Village Hotel, Cardiff.

East Midlands Branch: Wednesday 18 January 2023
Details to be confirmed.

Early Careers Branch: Thursday 19 January 2023
An introduction to condition monitoring*
by Will Ocean, Maintain Reliability.
Venue: Online.

Scottish Branch: Friday 27 January 2023
‘NDT solutions for renewable energy’, Scottish Branch Annual Exhibition and Seminar*
10.00 am-3.00 pm.
followed by:
Annual Burns Supper
Venue: Lynnhurst Hotel, Johnstone.

North West Branch: Monday 30 January 2023
Title to be confirmed*
by Mike Ennis, Sonatest.
Venue: To be confirmed.

Yorkshire Branch: January 2023
Details to be confirmed.*
Venue: Nuclear AMRC, Sheffield.

FEBRUARY 2023
London and Home Counties Branch: Thursday 2 February 2023
Developments in computed radiography*
by Darren Mapletoft, Carestream.

North East Scotland Branch: Thursday 2 February 2023
Detection and measurement of pitting – Carbon steel and CRA materials*
Speaker to be confirmed.
3.00 pm-5.00 pm.
Venue: To be confirmed.

Yorkshire Branch: Tuesday 7 February 2023
NDT apprenticeships: celebrating National Apprenticeship Week*
Speakers to be confirmed.
Venue: IMechE Argyll Ruane, 4 Europa View, Sheffield S9 1XH (also available online).

South Wales Branch: Wednesday 8 February 2023
Online BINDT meeting
Speaker to be confirmed.
Contact: Jason Richards.

West of England Branch: Monday 13 February 

Venue:
Swan Inn, Lower Tockington Road, Tockington, Bristol, BS32 4NJ.

East Midlands Branch: Wednesday 15 February 2023
Details to be confirmed.

Scottish Branch: Thursday 16 February 2023
High-temperature UT weld inspection*
Joint meeting with local branch of TWI Doosan Babcock Renfrew.
6.00 pm-7.30 pm.

Early Careers Branch: Thursday 23 February 2023
Managing NDT on a nuclear new build*
by Steve Meikle, EDF Energy.
Venue: Online.

North West Branch: Monday 27 February 2023
NDE 4.0*
by Tom Martin, Jetsoft.
Venue: Online.

MARCH 2023
North East Scotland Branch: Thursday 2 March 2023

Details to be confirmed.
3.00 pm-5.00 pm.

South Wales Branch: Wednesday 8 March 2023
Visit to TWI*
Contact: Michelle Clapham.
Venue: TWI, Port Talbot.

West of England Branch: Monday 13 March 2023
Venue: Swan Inn, Lower Tockington Road, Tockington, Bristol, BS32 4NJ.

East Midlands Branch: Wednesday 15 March 2023
Details to be confirmed.

Early Careers Branch: Thursday 23 March 2023
My NDT career*
by Simon Lewis, South West School of NDT.
Venue: Cardiff (also available online).

North West Branch: Monday 27 March 2023
Visit to Safran*
hosted by Marc Berry, Safran.

Yorkshire Branch: March 2023
Details to be confirmed.

APRIL 2023
London and Home Counties Branch: Thursday 6 April 2023
Inspection for corrosion under insulation using gamma radiography*
by Ben Read, HTSL.

North East Scotland Branch: Thursday 6 April 2023
Annual General Meeting (AGM)
3.00 pm-4.00 pm.
Venue: Array Training Centre, Altens, Aberdeen.

West of England Branch: Monday 10 April 2023
Venue: Swan Inn, Lower Tockington Road, Tockington, Bristol, BS32 4NJ.


South Wales Branch: Wednesday 12 April 2023

Online BINDT meeting
Speaker to be confirmed.
Contact: Jason Richards.

East Midlands Branch: Wednesday 19 April 2023
Details to be confirmed.


Early Careers Branch: Thursday 20 April 2023
An introduction to phased array*
by Jordan Wood, IMechE Argyll Ruane.
Venue: Sheffield (also available online).

North West Branch: Monday 24 April 2023
Early Careers Branch and mentor scheme*
by Sam Cunningham, Skills Training UK.
Venue: Online.

Yorkshire Branch: April 2023 (Date to be confirmed)
An honest account of my early career so far
by Denize Ivy Pilarta, BAE Systems.
Venue: Online.

MAY 2023
West of England Branch: Monday 8 May 2023
Venue: Swan Inn, Lower Tockington Road, Tockington, Bristol, BS32 4NJ.

South Wales Branch: Wednesday 10 May 2023
Online BINDT meeting
Speaker to be confirmed.
Contact: Jason Richards.

North East Scotland Branch: Friday 12th May 2023
Annual Scottish Branches competition
Venue: Drumoig Golf Course.

East Midlands Branch: Wednesday 17 May 2023
Pub quiz and Annual General Meeting (AGM)
Venue: To be confirmed.

Early Careers Branch: Thursday 25 May 2023
Running an NDT test house*

by Mark Campbell, Element.
Venue: Sheffield (also available online).


Yorkshire Branch: May 2023 (Date to be confirmed)

Annual General meeting (AGM)* plus Tour of the facilities
Venue: Nuclear AMRC, Sheffield.

North West Branch: Monday 29 May 2023
Visit to Rolls-Royce*
hosted by Matthew Beecroft, Rolls-Royce.

South Wales Branch: 2023 (Date to be confirmed)
Annual General Meeting (AGM)
Details to be confirmed.
Contact: Phil Edwards.


*indicates CPD content.

CPD Points from Branch meetings
Attending Branch meetings indicated as containing CPD content can earn valuable points towards PCN certificate renewals.

http://www.bindt.org/downloads/CP16.pdf
http://www.bindt.org/downloads/CP17.pdf