CM Awards

Institute Awards 

The Institute presents the following CM awards:


The COMADIT Prize is awarded for a significant contribution through research and development in any branch of condition monitoring to the benefit of industry or society.

Details of award: Certificate and a cash sum of £300.
Eligibility: Any research worker or group of named research workers.
Nomination arrangements: All members of the CM Technical Committee are invited to submit nominations for the Prize.

Committee responsible: CM Technical Committee.

A nomination form can be downloaded here.

2018 winner: Professor Andrew Starr
Sponsor: PCN Working Groups

The COMADIT Prize for 2018 is awarded to Professor Andrew Starr from Cranfield University, UK.

Andrew Starr is Chair of Maintenance Systems at Cranfield University, Head of the Through-Life Engineering Services Institute and Director of Education for the School of Aerospace, Transport and Manufacturing.

Andrew was awarded a PhD from the University of Manchester for his research on CM of robotic production systems and his work in novel sensing, e-maintenance systems and decision-making strategies has been recognised with grant support for numerous projects.

Andrew is a Chartered Engineer, a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society and the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE) and a Member of the British Institute of Non-Destructive Testing (BINDT), the Institute of Asset Management (IAM) and the International Society for Condition Monitoring (ISCM).

A list of all previous winners of the COMADIT Prize can be found here.

The Len Gelman Award
The Len Gelman Award is awarded
for the best paper in the Proceedings of the CM Annual Conference by a student or person in the early stages (first five years) of their career.

Details of award:
A certificate, a cash sum of £250 and free Institute membership for one year.
Eligibility: Anyone who is either a student or within the first five years of full-time employment, who presents a paper at the CM Annual Conference and has the paper published in the Proceedings.
Nomination arrangements: Anyone who notifies the Conference organisers when submitting their paper that they meet the criteria.
Committee responsible: CM Technical Committee.

2019 winners: K Kalista, J Liska, J Jakl and V Vasicek

The 2019 Len Gelman Award was presented to K Kalista, J Liska, J Jakl and V Vasicek from the University of West Bohemia, Czech Republic, for their paper, titled: ‘Identification of seal dynamic force coefficients for turbine rotor monitoring purposes’.

A list of all previous winners of the Len Gelman Award can be found here.

The CM Innovation Award
The CM Innovation Award recognises a significant contribution to technology innovation, technology transfer or technology strategy in the field of CM.

Details of award: A certificate, £250 cash and an invitation to the CM Annual Conference Dinner with free registration for the day and one night's accommodation for either the individual winner or, in the case of a group winner, a nominated representative.
Eligibility: Nominees can be individuals or groups who have made a significant contribution to CM technology through R&D technology transfer into industry or who have developed a strategy that has led to technology development and exploitation.
Nomination arrangements: Members of the CM Technical Committee will be invited to submit nominations on an annual basis.
Committee responsible: CM Technical Committee.

2018 winner: Dr Jérôme Lacaille

The CM Innovation Award for 2018 is awarded to Dr Jérôme Lacaille from Safran Aircraft Engines, France.

Holding the post of Emeritus Expert since 2007, Jérôme Lacaille is responsible for algorithmic innovations at Safran, a major aircraft manufacturer (civil and military applications). He is also head of an internal business network that capitalises on skills in mathematics, statistics, data analysis and scientific computing.

During his time at Safran, Jérôme has implemented prognostic and health monitoring (PHM) algorithms and developed a software platform solution to help engineers designing PHM solutions for specific subsystems. PHM is now part of the company’s system engineering process. He has also created the ‘DataLab’, recruiting a team of data scientists and engineers. The DataLab missions are to help business units with data analysis, transferring the data analytics knowledge with a formation program and building and centralising algorithmic and data visualisation tools.

As an ex-academic, Jérôme’s work at Safran is to also ensure the link between industry and universities. To this end, he is Vice President of the French Society of Applied and Industrial Mathematics, contributes to the formation of analysis and scientific programming courses at Institut Galilée – Université Paris 13, is a member of the Statistics, Analysis and Multidisciplinary Modelling (SAMM) laboratory at Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne and is a member of numerous scientific councils.

The CM Awards are normally presented at the CM Annual Conference.

Details of all Institute awards can be found here.